BajaNomad
Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Why didnt we die in Mexico???
defrag4
Senior Nomad

[*] posted on 2-29-2012 at 11:46 AM
Why didnt we die in Mexico???

Hey guys, My girlfriend and I have been traveling now in our 1987 4Runner for about 4 months headed south to Argentina. We spent a month in Baja in Febuarary and recently another month in Mainland Mexico. I wrote this post on my blog regarding concerns over travel in Mexico. Thought you guys would like it as well.

It seems obligatory for all overlanders to write a “Reflections on Mexico” post after their travels through the country are completed. Not only for collecting their own thoughts but also to share the truth about this “dangerous” country. While Lauren and I were preparing for this trip many people thought we were insane. Oddly, It wasn’t for the fact that we were planning to drive 25,000 miles to the bottom of the world. We were primarily labeled insane for simply wanting to drive into Mexico.

“Cant you just skip Mexico?”

“Have you thought about shipping around Mexico straight to South America?”

“I have heard/read/seen that you are going to be beheaded, raped, robbed, scammed, schemed, murdered, sold into slavery; the instant you step across the border to Mexico.”

Honestly, I cannot really blame them. The media blasts us with reports of daily beheadings, bodies lining the streets, downright bloodbaths. Momentarily while preparing for the trip we would feel a shimmer of trepidation as well. What if our years of research, planning, and reports from people who are actually IN Mexico were wrong and they were all right? Would there be banditos waiting to have their way with our innocent American flesh?

We pushed aside these fears and stood strong, after all… hard facts beat out hearsay everyday.