BajaNomad
Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Planning trip to Baja, wondering about safety
utahtobaja

[*] posted on 1-30-2017 at 03:50 PM
Planning trip to Baja, wondering about safety

Hi all, I'm new to BajaNomad. I enjoy reading everyone's posts. I wouldn't say I am a seasoned traveler to Baja but I wouldn't say I'm a rookie either. I've taken several camping trips to Northern Baja, stayed in houses umpteen times as well.

I'm aware of the safety rules the veterans here post about, like not driving at night, staying away from drugs, etc... What I am wondering about is political safety at this point. How are the people reacting to gringos right now? I am sad I even feel like asking this as I love my Latino neighbors and wish they could know that even though we are on different sides of the border.
mtnpop
Senior Nomad

[*] posted on 1-30-2017 at 04:12 PM

Well most of the locals we talk with are so p**ssed with their own govt right now they don't seem to worry with us.They talk about both and shake their heads mostly like we are....
Of course we are way south "Mulege" but the Mexican economy is hitting the working stiff pretty hard...
Can't say for closer to the border...
Protests here are about fuel prices, not border walls...
gotta love em, they still come to work every morning...

Common sense is a flower that doesn\'t grow in everyone\'s garden.....

A wise man once spoke nothing.....

Never kick a cow chip on a hot day!!
shari
Select Nomad

Mood: there is no reality except the one contained within us "Herman Hesse"

[*] posted on 1-30-2017 at 04:37 PM