Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: For a Greater Glory
Pescador
Ultra Nomad

[*] posted on 5-3-2013 at 05:54 PM
For a Greater Glory

A good friend loaned me a DVD of the movie "A Greater Glory" which captured my attention from the very beginning and held it there for the entire movie. I am a student of history but must admit I had heard nothing of this conflict where Calles, President of Mexico, basically outlawed the Catholic Church and tried through Military action to close down and stop the influence of Catholicism in Mexico around the 1925 period. If you want to enlighten yourself about Mexico history and reflect on what lengths the government might go to to influence thought and culture, then this is a must see.

Many people of faith today are asking, “What is the price of religious liberty?” In the 1920’s many Catholics in Mexico answered this crucial question at the cost of their very lives. The new major motion picture, For Greater Glory: The True Story of Cristiada tells the epic tale of Mexico’s heroic struggle for religious freedom in a little-known conflict called the Cristero War – but many questions still remain. Now you’ll go much deeper into the exciting history behind the movie with this fact-filled companion book – and gain important insight into the on-going fight for religious freedom today. This is the Official Companion Book to the epic film. Lavishly illustrated with photos from the film and with historical photos.

MrBillM
Platinum Nomad

Mood: It's a Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah Day

[*] posted on 5-3-2013 at 06:22 PM
The Catholics are the Good Guys ?

HM !

THAT would be difficult to accept.
DENNIS
Platinum Nomad

[*] posted on 5-3-2013 at 06:56 PM

One of the few Graham Greene novels I've read, "The Power and The Glory" concerns this time in Mexico. An excellent read:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Power_and_the_Glory